Mediocre Mom of 4 Severely Average Kids

30 Jan

So I had a baby.  She’s dang cute.

IMG_1373

Birth was yet another experience that re-affirmed when you are dealing with kids, whatever you think something is going to be like, it’s invariably not that.

When I was pregnant with Griffin, I planned an unmedicated water birth. I got an emergency c-section almost immediately upon arrival at the hospital. He had to be resuscitated upon birth. It turned out that his cord was wrapped around his neck four times.

With Sawyer, I hoped for an unmedicated VBAC (vaginal birth after c-section). My water broke 2.5 weeks early but I didn’t start labor so I ended up with pitocin, an epidural and 18 hours of labor in the hospital. My biggest regret was that I didn’t get the epidural sooner! I loved the anesthesiologist.

I figured that my labor with Nora was going to take a while since Sawyer’s was so long. However, I ended up dialted to 6 cm when I got to the hospital and I was still not experiencing any pain. When the pain started, I got an epidural immediately, figuring that I didn’t want to suffer unnecessarily expecting that it would be a while. Nora came flying out before the midwife was even ready in one push 30 minutes later.

Since Nora went so quickly and with very little pain, I thought baby number four might end up being one of those babies born on the side of the highway if I wasn’t careful. I thought if things progressed quickly I could go without pain meds this time. However, my water broke at 6pm, without labor really starting, so it ended up taking quite a while. At first the slow progression was fine, it gave Jeff and I a chance to finally agree upon a name. Then it started to hurt. At one point I was so sure it was time have the baby and start pushing that I made the nurse check to see how far dilated I was. Sadly, I was only dilated to 4 cm. That was when I realized this wasn’t going to be so easy after all. I sat in the bathtub hoping the hot water would help me, but the pain was too much so I got the epidural. The anesthesiologist is one of my favorite people now. Eventually it was time to push. It hurt and it was lots of work. I was thankful for the epidural. Violet Anne was born at 5:03 on December 31st. She weighed 6 lbs 10 oz and was 19 3/4 inches.

I have been told that I should change the name of my blog, but that sounds like entirely too much work.  Instead of doing all that work, here’s some pictures of adorableness.  Enjoy baby Violet.

IMG_1475

IMG_1488IMG_1452

Leave a Reply

