I’m Nora, just Nora

22 Jul

This weekend Nora and the boys went to spend the night at grandpa’s house. He relayed the discussion they had one morning. Nora had gotten her fingernails painted and her hair done up.

Grandpa: Nora, are you pretty?
Nora: Shakes head no.
Grandpa: You aren’t pretty?
Nora: Shakes head no.
Grandpa: Are you cute?
Nora: Shakes head no.
Grandpa: Are you ugly?
Nora: Shakes head no.
Grandpa: Well, what are you then?
Nora: I Nora

Good point kid, good point.

I’m surely over thinking this, but I think she has the right idea. Why do girls need to be defined as pretty or ugly or anything else? Why can’t they just be themselves?

Okay, now, shameless picture of said little girl…
229

2 Responses to “I’m Nora, just Nora”

  1. Theresa Frost July 22, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    Love this!

  2. Colleen February 19, 2014 at 9:06 pm #

    I just read this one, and this is so my Cara. You tell her she’s beautiful, no she says. I’m Cara. They must have been sisters in a former life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

