Sentimental or Creepy?

13 Feb

I am not a sentimentalist.  I guess that makes me a strange mother.  Some things it is just hard to know what to do with though.  After having an early miscarriage and then suffering with infertility for almost two years, when I finally got a positive home pregnancy test I didn’t want to throw it away.  That would be bad luck, right?  But then what?  At what point do you throw the thing away?

A friend of mine confessed what she did with hers:

Her:  I put Grant’s (7) in his baby book.  Henry’s (3) is in my jewelry box still!

Me:  In the baby book?!?!?! Because when he is 20 he’s going to want to be able to say- hey- here’s that stick my mom peed on…

Her:  Hahahaha I don’t think it’s creepy !! I put the cap on !

Me:  “I put the cap on !”  LMAO! Because dried up pee with a cap on makes it better?  Did you keep his dried up umbilical cord too?  By the way, I only tease people I love, if I didn’t like you I’d just make fun of you behind your back….

Her:  I threw Henry’s belly button away … With that said, my mom totally kept Grant’s in a little pouch.  I’m very sentimental … Or just a pack rat, I’m not sure.

Me:  You didn’t eat the placenta or bury it under a tree either then?

Her:  Lol noooo that’s just too far !!!!  I keep baby teeth in a baggie…. Please tell me you at least save those!

Other friend:  I’m not a saver of body parts , personally.

Her: When you say it like that it just sounds creepy!

So that gets me wondering, do people normally keep this stuff?  I didn’t even keep locks of hair.  What did you save?  Anything bordering on creepy?  Just please tell me you didn’t get one of these made:

Placenta Teddy.  Yes.  A teddy bear sewn out of your own dried placenta.  Perfect keepsake for sentimentalists.  Or crazies.  You decide.

Placenta Teddy. Yes. A teddy bear sewn out of your own dried placenta. Perfect keepsake for sentimentalists. Or crazies. You decide.

Leave a Reply

