Mediocrity Defined…

23 Jan

Mediocrity.  Here is my confession.  I am supremely mediocre.  Let me explain.

I shower every other day or so.  I remember to brush my teeth most days.  I love ice cream, potatoes, and red meat.  I abhor most vegetables including anything that could be construed as salad.  I stay up too late and sleep too late.  I let my kids play unsupervised.  I eat in the living room.  I love Coca-Cola.  I don’t exercise much.  My house is a disaster.  I love Days of Our Lives.  I’ve read one book in the last year.  Dinner sometimes includes things like frozen pizza, chicken nuggets, macaroni and cheese, and fish sticks.  I had an epidural during two births and a c-section for the other.  I haven’t changed out of my pajamas yet today and I probably won’t.

You know what else?  I am completely contented in my mediocrity.  I am happy.  My kids are happy.  It seems like moms get mired in this competition of who can be the best.  But there is no such thing as best.  There is only what works for you.  If your kids and family is happy and healthy then you are a great mom.

Nora and her cousin Ella.  Nora's favorite pastime in the snow is eating it.

Nora and her cousin Ella. Nora’s favorite pastime in the snow is eating it.

 

One Response to “Mediocrity Defined…”

  1. Kelly Boyd January 26, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    HA! Were we separated at birth?

Leave a Reply

