Controversy and Boy Scouts

18 Jul

Is the question:
Should The Boy Scouts of America be forced to allow heterosexuals in the organization?

Or:
Should The Boy Scouts of America chose to allow all individuals regardless of sexual orientation, color, or religion,  to participate in their organization?

I think the first question is really not the point.  Let’s keep the government out of this.  Instead, I hope The Boy Scouts of America come to their senses and on their own accord changes their policies.  What sort of message are they teaching our children?   Exclusion?

http://usnews.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/07/17/12790471-boy-scouts-were-keeping-policy-banning-gays

There are lots of other organizations who treat people more equitably.

I was proudly a 4-H member, the four H’s stand for Head, Hands, Heart, and Health.  I can still recite the pledge.

I pledge my head to clearer thinking,
my heart to greater loyalty,
my hands to larger service, and
my health to better living,
for my club, my community, my country and my world.

And it is an organization whose policy on discrimination I can support.  It “prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or family status.”

Or The Girl Scouts of America, long time pioneers of diversity, who recently decided that “If a child identifies as a girl and the child’s family presents her as a girl, Girl Scouts of Colorado welcomes her as a Girl Scout,” when overturning a local troop’s rejection of a transgender 7-year-old child.

If and when my children decide they would like to join a group or a club, I will be making sure that it is one who accepts all children and doesn’t discriminate.

Leave a Reply

