The Definition of Insanity

7 May

Do you all have friends or coworkers that drive you crazy?  The ones that complain about the same thing over and over again?  And then ask you for advice?  And then argue with you about how they can’t do any of your suggestions because of x, y, z reasons? And therefore never ever take a single piece of your advice?  And then complain that things never change?  And my favorite, is after talking about this for the 1,520,953 time, they say “But it’s no big deal”.

Jeff’s favorite quote is “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”.  I’d like to think this quote applies to this wonderful brand of people.

The ones who keep complaining about how badly their head hurts because they keep beating their head against a brick wall?  “My head hurts so bad”.  “Why doesn’t this brick wall ever move?”  “This brick wall really hurts my head you guys”  “Why doesn’t this brick wall get out of my head’s way?”

The more I think about this though, I think it might be me that has the problem.  I keep engaging these insane folks.  Perhaps I’m the one beating my head against a brick wall?  Fuck this shit.  I need new friends.

If you are reading this, I didn’t write this about you.  Really.

4 Responses to “The Definition of Insanity”

  1. Feeling Good About Feminism May 8, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    Laughing out loud. seriously. You just described my Every conversation with a particular person (and the way I used to interact, myself). Thankfully I’ve changed. Or grown, whatever-ya-callit. 🙂

  2. Anonymous May 8, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    When I was growing up we had a magnet on our fridge that said “Insanity is hereditary – you get it from your children.”

  3. stephicakes May 9, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    That last line made me laugh so hard!!! I’m KINDOF one of those people in a couple respects, but I’m getting better. 🙂
    Good luck today!!!!! (it’s today right?)

Leave a Reply

